Just F*cking Do It

Image

My husband delivered a keynote one time to an audience of startups and technology nerds. His advice to them was “stop talking about it and just f*cking do it”. Everyone laughed and nodded. This happens a lot in technology and business. People spend a huge amount of time talking about what they are going to do; pontificating, planning, researching, and discussing – but then fall down on execution.  So things either never get off the ground or they lose steam shortly after they launch.

The exact same thing happens in our lives when it comes to creating change, starting something new, or embarking on a personal goal attempt. We often build things up in our minds and make them appear way bigger or more complicated than they actually are. If I would have thought about running for 30 minutes without stopping before I began running on day one, I would have given up or possibly not even started running. But here I am 9 weeks later and running has stuck for me. First I had to be okay with 3 minutes, then 5 minutes, then 10 and 20 and so on. It was a gradual build up that all began with me just f*cking doing it. Every day that I run, I don’t think about anything other than what is in front of me at that moment. I put my shoes on and head out the door thinking only about putting one foot in front of the other, that’s it. And I do my best to apply this same logic to pretty much everything I work on. It helps tremendously. I am the type of person who gets completely overwhelmed if I think about everything at once, so for my own sanity I have to break it down. And just doing it helps because you take the first step, and then the second, and then the third and before you know it you’ve accomplished something.

Not all things work out just because we start doing them, but at least you can say that you actually did something. Talking about doing something and actually doing it are two very different things. So just f*cking do it no matter what that thing is for you.

7 thoughts on “Just F*cking Do It

  1. Exactly! We all like to dream big; but to take that first step towards realizing it, is a big hurdle for many, me included. 🙂

  2. Nice piece. I’m just getting back to running after an injury and can relate to your struggle. I never thought of that as a metaphor for life, but your piece made the connection.

  3. HI, Within the last five years I was in my apartment on Grand Avenue and had seen a picture of “Jessie” with my sister and I. I had a shaved crotch and was face down on the ground away from the camera. I said I “sold my soul to him” I do DID NOT. If uttering those words made it happen than I NEED TO BACK FROM HIM. I didn’t mean it. And I am FUCKING FURIOUS some ugly wanker is fucking with me.
    I was scared and confused and frightened. I would NEVER do it to be “sexy” or “fun” or “daring” or “to try to solve things” even. I didn’t know what the fuck I was doing. I was enacting what I thought had happened. I WANT THE FUCKER OUT OF MY LIFE AND YOU TOO>

Leave a Reply

