That’s Why We’re All Fucked!

mom.jpg 

Isn’t it funny how we try like hell to differentiate ourselves from our parents… We always say “I’ll never be like my mother” or “I will never turn into my father”… Yet, despite our best efforts, we do on some level, and sometimes several. And we horrifyingly find ourselves nagging about something trivial and insignificant (like our mother) or being a grumpy bastard (like our father) and the realization comes that perhaps there isn’t anything we can do about it. Perhaps the older we get, the MORE like them we will become. And what a fucking scary thought that is!

Is there really anything we can do to stop this process? If there is, somebody needs to tell me about it now before it’s too late! God love my parents, but I don’t want to be like either of them. I already inherited my dad’s rebellious, fuck-the-man, anti-establishement, shit-disturbing creatively juxtaposed personality traits and my mom’s obsessive, do-it-now, can’t sit still, feel like a loser unless you’re overachieving, severely skewed outlook… So i’m already sort of fucked with these oddly opposing traits! And seriously, enough is enough. I don’t want any more of their traits. I like the traits I have! I’m happy with my traits and quirks… and happy to pass my quirks on to my girls. But I don’t want my girls getting quirks and traits that I inherited from my parents and then further quirkified before passing on to them… Because then they’re just gonna be totally fucked!

Where was I going with this again?! Oh yeah… I don’t wanna turn into my parents!

Somebody help me!

7 thoughts on “That’s Why We’re All Fucked!

  1. To be honest I don’t think there is shy of a brain transplant and then you just get to be someone else and inherit their warped view of the world.

    The best thing is to take the best of your parents, mix in the best of you, then keep it all to yourself and give your kids the worst.

    That’s not to punish your girls because they are very cute but then that stands to reason (have you SEEN their mum 😉 ) but it stands to leave your mark on the world by fucking it up via your little ones.

    At least if they’re fucked up with the worst of you but you’ve got the best bits, they will look at you and want to be like you.

    It’s a theory I’m working on but then I am trying to take over/destroy the world so it might not be a good idea taking my advice. 🙂

  2. The best way to not become like your parents is to send your kids to foster home…if you could do that, you’ll succeed in not becoming like your parents 😉 i think you’ll understand what i mean.

  3. Man, I hear ya on this post.

    The reality that things we swore we’d never become or things we’d repeat from our parents has hit me and yes, I too, have become a sad, sad clone of them.

    There’s no escaping the inevitable, Chica. Just embrace it and move on. 😛

    I look forward to reading your kiddie’s blogs as soon as they are old enough realize they’ve picked up mom’s obessive denial that she’s passed on grandma’s best traits. 😮

  4. Don’t fight it … just enjoy the ride.

    I’m trying not to turn into my mom or dad, but I have no idea if I’m winning the battle. I think I am, but some minor things here and there lead me to believe otherwise. I guess its not all bad … we all have to grow up.

    I just don’t want to be in my late 50s and spend my life quietly sitting in front of the TV instead of living life with my love. That is my biggest fear … but realistically I have a feeling that won’t happen. 🙂

  5. Unfortunately, you – like every other mammal on the planet (including Mom and Dad) – floats in the shallow end of their very own gene pool. So, we’re ALL fucked if that’s any consolation.

    The only advice I can offer is to drown everyone in your family and tell the young ones to run…run like the wind, until they’re safely away from the pool.

    Note: Salmon don’t have this problem because they have the good sense to die after spawning.

    Wait! I think this is my Dad talking! I’ll have to get back to you after I strangle myself.

  6. I don’t have the answer- how do you not become like your folks- when you figure it out please let me know IMMEDIATELY!

    I refuse to turn out like my mother! If I do- God help society, my daughter, and my husband!!

Leave a Reply

