The American Dream

So, you wanna live the American Dream? Work hard at your 9-5 job, have 2 kids (a boy and a girl exactly 2 years apart), live in the safe suburbs, with a nice house and 2 cars… Maybe have a family dog (a Golden Lab) named Rex. Cut your lawn every Saturday morning at 10am, get home from work each day at exactly 5:30 on the nose. Dinner is served at 6 every fucking night without fail. Let’s not forget the annual family vacation… Somewhere nice like Florida or Hawaii. That sound about right?!

Excuse me while I throw up!

This American Dream notion… In all of it’s predictable safe and sheltered like glory, scares the living fuck out of me!! I don’t want the American Dream, I don’t believe in the American Dream, and I will be a very sad individual if I find myself inadvertantly chasing it!

I believe in reality… The reality that marriages break down, people divorce, break up… kids come from extended families… People get fired and laid off, and not everyone WANTS to work a 9 to 5 job Monday to Friday. Some days I don’t feel like having dinner, and when I do have dinner it’s never at the same time! I don’t cut my lawn every week and am so far from having a Green thumb that it’s laughable. I do believe in love… But living the American Dream is not what transpires from the kind of love that I believe in. The American Dream represents a boring and predictable existence that I don’t want any part of… I have my own dreams, that involve spirituality, personal growth, experience, and feeling ALIVE! What the fuck could I possibly learn from The American Dream?

Nothing!

13 thoughts on “The American Dream

  1. I have a dream, but I don’t think I would slap an american endorsement to the side of it.

    Thanks for the link, Selina, but I moved my blog due to professional reasons.

  2. The only people who still believe in the American Dream are the baby boomers who grew up during the 50’s 🙂

    I think your version on how to live life is definitely the way to go!

  3. Amen! But I think, as Rebeleyeball said, that the American Dream is the ability to pursue and fulfill whatever personal dreams you have. As in, anything is possible if you work hard enough.

  4. It is simply not possible for everyone to become prosperous through determination and hard work alone.

    Prosperity comes from many different elements of a persons lifecycle such as luck, family, and wealth that a person could have inherited over the years.

    Other elements including your intelligence and the way you feel about your physical attributes can also contribute to the fuflilment of your dreams and personal satisfaction.

    You’ve clearly hit the nail on the head with this post…

  5. I would be in big trouble were I to have to fill that dream… I kill plants because I forget to water them… I do have the two kids but the house is 30-years-old, pretty but falling apart and instead of Rex the dog try Ella Blue (the cat that falls into toilets) and Ziggy Barley (her idiot shitty-assed brother) instead, and we have no lawn but fruit trees here and there instead and being a yoga teacher, well then 9-5 is just not done and in Spain? Hah!

    Does that mean I need to get shot? Did I mention I so do not cook? Crap, probably does mean I must be shot! Oh well!

  6. I don’t see anything wrong with pursuing what you described as the American Dream. If that’s what you want out of life, then go for it. If not, then do something else that makes you happy. There’s no one with a gun to my head in USA telling me that I have to work a 9 to 5. Some people are content with that life style.

  7. Oh yeah, I hate the American Dream too. So I do what I want, which is pretty much this:

    I work 11 pm to 4 am, or sometimes 10 pm to 3 or 2 am. Or sometimes I work midnight to 6 am or 5 am. I pretty much decide when to go in, and i leave when I’m done.

    I almost never cook. Hell, I work all night, gotta sleep all day. You think when I get up at 4 or 5 pm I feel like thinking of cooking? Honey, will you go grab us a bite to eat? That’s me.

    I do have the two kids, but one of them grew up to be a body piercer, and hey, that’s ok with me. I’m not disappointed. The other one is a lil genius but she’s also pretty cool, and she doesn’t follow the fads, she has her own style. I never told them I wanted them to grow up to be doctors and lawyers.

    The dog? Named Rex? Hey that’s ok, I like dogs. I have 6. My neighbors complain.

Leave a Reply

