Embracing Change

cryingwoman.jpg

Life is interesting, ironic, stressful, exhilarating, sad, tragic, joyful, peaceful, solemn, hectic, confusing, meaningful, hard, rewarding, a bitch, a beach, fucked up and beautiful! Life is all of these things (and more) all at once. Sometimes life is hard to live, sometimes it’s easy, sometimes you face situations that you think you will never make it through… But you do. You wake up the next day, you get out of bed and you live! And soon, you move on. You make it through things that you thought at one time you could never make it through.

Life changes at the drop of a hat. We get so used to our little routines, we get comfortable with the way things are… The familiarity of predictability and stability, so when things change we become scared. We don’t know this new existence… How will we deal with these new scenarios? How will we survive when we are out of our element? The fear gets a hold of us, sometimes makes us paralyzed… But you know what, it still doesn’t change the fact that things will change! If there is one thing that you can count on in this life it is that things will change.

So since we know that change is inevitable and that it is all we can really count on, why are we so resistant to it? Is it fear… Is it stubbornness… Is it laziness? How can we truly be happy with change when we have these fears and an unwillingness to embrace it?

I have discovered that embracing change, looking at it with eyes that are unafraid and living with a willingness to roll with the punches, makes things much easier. Change is not a bad thing, it never is… When change happens, people learn, people grow, and people mature. It is perhaps one of the things in life that we can learn from most. I find peace in the fact that I don’t know what’s gonna happen tomorrow, I don’t know what’s gonna happen the day after tomorrow… And you know what? I don’t want to.

10 thoughts on “Embracing Change

  1. SeLina,
    I think you answered your own question about why people fear change – “When change happens, people learn, people grow, and people mature. It is perhaps one of the things in life that we can learn from most.”

    Not everyone has as fine an appreciation of it as you do. To some “change” means everyone else changes and I stay the same. With an outlook like that, it’s no wonder it scares the bejeebers out of them.

    And as the certified “old guy” I can also tell you this: As you get older, the novelty of learning something everyday wears a little thin. Especially when so many changes you’ve learned about were changes for change’s sake.

    Having said all that, I much prefer your attitude, so thanks for reminding me of that.

  2. Dear Poobah is delightful with his advice, words and wisdom! As are you! You both said it all and I am just here to clap and lend my support!

    You go hot mama!

    hmmm…. makes me wonder what has been going on in the land o’ Lingo! Hope all is well!

  3. I agree with you. Change keeps life interesting. I know a lot of people that can not deal with change but I think those people are missing out on life.

  4. I like change but not in my pocket because my pants fall down.

    The people I admire most are the old people getting with new technology and surfing the net and using cellphones and laptops etc. They’re not of that “old dog new tricks” mindset.

    People fear change because they are lazy. They like things the way they are and any change will require effort on their part to learn said new thing.

    Personally I crave change because the current stuff sucks monkey arse. I’m constantly learning new things and so while doing so I’m never bored. I do however get really bored when it comes to being in a situation where I’m not learning. That said I hate formal learning cos you don’t learn anything. 🙂

    Mind you people with fears are idiots or is it the other way round? Either way I prefer to have no fear, I’m never stopped from doing stuff, although sometimes maybe I should be.

    Anyone care to go body boarding down a flooded river with me? Oh well, your loss. 😛

  5. Gee- I just read another post about change. Must be something in the air. I’ll reply to this with one of the same things I replied to that- Change

  6. I thrive on change and I’ve been quite stagnant lately. It definitely has an effect on me and I’ve been trying to do something about it. I’m looking for signs from the universe…I’ll take this post as yet another one.

  7. Hi SeLiNa.

    I hope all is well.

    Though I am a creature of habit and routine, I realize that change is the only constant.

    Hopefully any changes you may be going through at the moment are for the better.

    Take care out there, SeLiNa!

    Your Pal,

    Zambo.

  8. i’ve always looked at change as a new adventure…i’ve also learned that if you don’t like whatever you’ve changed, you can always change it again…and again and again… and again…till you find the exact change you’re lookin for…

    it’s a new dawn, lingo…

    this is your time…

  9. Actually forget that last post and this post because I posted it on the wrong topic.

    Leave me a lone it’s Monday and my domain shat itself. Have to revert back to my .Mac account for my blog.

    Not a happy chappy.

Leave a Reply

