Cherry Popped


Post-performance street party with the Portuguese!
DJ Andy Roberts was spinning… Needless to say Lingo
was dancin’ in the street!!!

So I go to pick up my girlfriend last night to head downtown to the slam venue. I leave myself plenty of time (in fact, even a little extra just in case). We hit College St and cruise down a bit until we see a ton of cops, road blocks, and a sea of people… Fucking awesome, College St is closed for several blocks!

We’re in Little Portugal, flags waving, whistles blowing, and drunk Portugeuse loud men everywhere. There’s families, kids, old people, bands, DJ’s, street performers, jumping bouncing castles, and enough Pork Souvlaki to feed the entire continent of Africa. I ask my girlfriend if she would mind driving my car on the necessary detour she’ll need to take to park it. We were in the 500s, I needed to be in the 800s… If there weren’t crowds of people in the street, I probably could’ve ran and been there in less than ten minutes, but unfortunately the sea of people prevented that from happening.

I got there at five to nine… Sign in was at 8:30. The show was scheduled to start at nine!! The organizer told me all the slots had been filled and that it was too late, he apologized. I grabbed myself a vodka soda with lime and chugged the fucking thing back, I was so pissed! Finally I went up to the guy a 2nd time and said “look, isn’t there anything at all you can do? It took me forever to get here, I had to wade through a sea of people out there, I didn’t know it was gonna be like this… I just wanna read my piece. It’s only 2.5 minutes long”. He (feeling sympathetic towards my situation) agreed to let me up on stage to perform my piece, only it would have to be for Open Mic, since the actual slam was full. “Fine I don’t care… I’ll take anything. I just want to get up there. This is important to me”. And I did…

For a first timer, I think I did okay. I stumbled a couple of times, but my voice was loud and clear. The audience warmed up to me near the end of my piece and gave me some appreciative claps and cheers at the end. I was reeeeeeeeally nervous though… My hands were shaking, my voice was shaky, and my legs felt numb. Anyway, I did indeed get it on video (it’s a little dark, but you can hear it fine). I am working on the video tonight and will try to post it tomorrow or Tuesday at the latest.

Thanks for all your well wishing. Now that i’ve had my stage cherry popped, I will be more comfortable the next time around, and it will only get better the more that I do it. Next gig is July 22nd.

Happy Fathers Day to all you Dads out there!! Hope you got treated to some nice grub, beer, and quality time with your kids. My dad is unfortunately in the hospital for Fathers Day, but I got to see him today.

Much Luv,
xoxo
Lingo

12 thoughts on “Cherry Popped

  1. I don’t know why I want to wrestle in Jello…I just do, Maybe I’ll have a very enjoyable birthday…Maybe lots of fun with girls, and boys…Haha…

  2. I’m glad it went well for you! I haven’t read my stuff to anyone in ages. I’m trying to follow your advice to yourself and “just write”. Then maybe I’ll get around to reading it to someone. šŸ˜›

  3. Congratulations and I am glad you at least got perform. One of the the open mic nights here in Sacramento is first come first serve to get a spot. Then the spot is randomly drawn. Unless however you wrap the spot you want (like 3rd or 5th or 100th) with some money.

    I hope all is well with your father..

  4. WIDYMD=#36271:FFQ#; FRQSTR=19175873x264441:1:1440x264441:1:1440x264441:1:1440x264441:1:1440x264441:1 on said:

    Hey Selina, I just saw the video. Very good! They say you never forget your first time (I know I still remember my first open mic), and I’m sure you never will either. Congrats!

  5. I realize that I forgot to sign in on my last comment here. But you never do forget that first time. Congratulations on getting yourself up there and fighting for the spot. That’s the part that impresses me the most.

Leave a Reply

