Aarrr Paddle Me Over There Matey!

I had to laugh when I saw a news excerpt on TV talking about pirates that attacked a luxury cruise liner. You can read the story here. I wasn’t laughing at the attack itself, but rather the fact that these “pirates” were cruising around in inflatable speed boats. What kind of pirate rides around in an inflatable boat? This prompted me to wonder whether there are dingy pirates, kayak pirates, canoe pirates or paddle boat pirates out there on the open seas (or lakes). Aren’t pirates supposed to use swords and cannons as their weapons of choice too? These inflatable pirates were using rifles and rocket launchers! It would have been funny if they fired a cannon from their inflatable vessel! Guess the inflatable pirate ship has no plank to walk, deck to swab, or flag to hoist… And hey, wouldn’t the stolen treasure sink the boat? *Sigh* Where are all the real pirates!! These inflatable ones just aren’t doin’ it for me!

If you’d like to abandon your current name for a pirate name click here. I’m Dread Pirate Vane! If you are in a hurry for your new pirate name click here instead.

Non-Pirate Related: It’s my birthday in 11 days!!!

16 thoughts on “Aarrr Paddle Me Over There Matey!

  1. Smilin Beth Blythe…that’s my new name…not sure if I am all over it or not.

    Looking forward to your birthday

  2. I’m now Pirate Joh The Black. Woohoo!! It’s so sad that I have such a thing for pirates. But they are so hot! Ok perhaps Johnny Depp in Pirates Of The Caribean didn’t help any.

  3. Peggy If you replace the Smilin’ with Ballin’ it sounds cool. “Ballin’ Beth Blythe”… I likes it.

    Johnie – that site is awesome!!! That dude is seriously funny.

  4. Hey Lingo,
    This is also a serious subject. I work in the shipping business and our ships have to take serious anti-pirate measures. These people are real and they are dangerous. See here

  5. There was an article in the local paper about this. It sounded more menacing because they failed to mention the use of inflatable boats! I wonder if they flying the skull and crossbones on those boats…makes you wonder.

  6. Thanks for the early b-day wish Sippy… hey – you’re a scorpio too aren’t you?!

    West Coaster – I hear ya! I think that ships should equip themselves with armed coast guards or military personnel in preparation for things like this. Of course it would cost a lot to pay someone for the “what if” factor, but better to be safe.

    This particular incident was handled brilliantly by the captain and crew!!

  7. Hey, I followed you here from your comment in my LJ!

    Are you lingoslinger on the nano forums too?

    Where are you from? If you’re in the Toronto area, have you been to any events?

  8. Hey Dana!
    Yes I am lingoslinger in Nano too!! I signed up so that I could finish my W.I.P. (something that I later found out was against the rules). LOL, oh well, at least i’ll finish my book, which is the goal for me.

    I’m from Mississauga. I haven’t been to any NaNo events, but I was thinking of perhaps hitting that one downtown Toronto that’s coming up (the halfway event)! Not sure yet though.

    Good luck with your novel.

  9. I always liked playing pirates when we were small, but I didn’t think they still existed. I had to do a double-take when I saw that news story.

    Happy Birthday Early – Ben O.

  10. Bloody Roger Bonney

    Every pirate lives for something different. For some, it’s the open sea. For others (the masochists), it’s the food. For you, it’s definitely the fighting. You can be a little bit unpredictable, but a pirate’s life is far from full of certainties, so that fits in pretty well. Arr!

    I like food and I like fighting. Bugger you if you try and take my steak away from me.

    BTW, what the hell does “Remenber” mean?

Leave a Reply

