Gonna Try…


I’ve been thinking (seriously for about 3 years now) about writing a novel. I always have at least a few ideas rattling around in this cluttered and directionless brain of mine. It seems like I always “have an idea”. I even write the first chapter in my head… And then life gets in the way and I forget about it until I move on to my next “novel” idea! What the fuck is wrong with me?!

My book would be nothing like this random, grammatically incorrect, sick and distorted blog of mine. No, this would be something different, something I would slave over and tweak until my brain feels as if it’s going to explode with punctuation! I feel this incredible universal pull that’s been speaking to me in my dreams and in my constant self-chatter for the last few years telling me to do it. I don’t even care if the book isn’t successful or (like the recent movie The Dukes of Hazzard) gets absolutely laughable reviews!!! I just want to feel like i’ve accomplished something, I want to feel the satisfaction of ACTUALLY doing it

Instead of always just “thinking” about it, I’ve decided that I’m not getting any younger (I’ll be 27 in November) and it’s time for me to just get over my procrastination and stupid cycle of figuring out the “perfect idea” and just take one of my many ideas and start developing it.

To help me do this… I found this website, which I am taking as my “sign” to get going… So sorry if you have to put up with a post or two in the next 100 or so days with me bitching about my book… Hopefully it will all be worth it in the end.

Day 1 starts tomorrow… (oh shit, was that another procrastination?!). For now I’m going to have another glass of wine (maybe it’ll get my creative juices flowing… Or not, I don’t care I just want a drink)!

10 thoughts on “Gonna Try…

  1. Farkas fighters find home on Web
    The anti -Frank Farkas Web site, http://www.fedupwithfarkas.com started around March and then disappeared for a bit.
    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you!

    I have a russian wife site/blog. It pretty much covers russian wife related stuff.

    Come and check it out if you get time 🙂

  2. Your Blog site is fantastic. Thanks and keep up.
    Complete Guides To Save Time Looking For Car Stereo Fact and Information
    Check out this site Car Stereo

  3. Nice… I like your Fed Up With Farkas site!! Very well written!

    I was actually looking for somewhere to order a Russian Bride too (so thanks for that)!! 😉

  4. STELLAR!!! Let me know when you get it published (in like 100 days or more) and I will so buy a couple copies. I will even help you endorse it in my free time because SHIT GIRL!! You are a damn good writer- you are cool as hell- There are thousands and thousands of resources available to help you to that are easily accessible. It is easier today to write a book than it was 20 years ago. I hope to write a few novels in the future myself, but I want to learn as much as I can first. Right now I am learning screenwriting and plot development. It seems like everyone else has gotten the character development down. I haven’t even started. I am going to start too- tomorrow- because I too am a procrastinator.

  5. Thanks KC!!! I will let you know for sure. It’s just one of those things that I HAVE TO DO… For my soul to feel good and accomplished!

    Today I figured out what my main characters name is going to be… Lilly!

    That’s cool that you’re into screenwriting! I am hoping to do some sketch comedy writing in the future. Book must come first though…

    That site that I linked to has some good tips! Yeah you should definitely give it a go!

  6. Hell Yeah!!
    Comedy is what captured my interest in writing. It is one of the most challenging to master. Communication is so difficult when the receiver perceives the message differently than it was intended. Miscommunication is the foundation of all conflict, breakups, wars, et cetera.

    That’s awesome you have your first characters name already. I have the title. (as backwards as that is) One of the things I remember the most from writing in High School was to pick the title LAST. I also have a theme and a couple ideas for the plot.

    I have to write a book too. Nobody scribbles down bull sh*t as much as this chick. I can fill a standard sized notebook a night with my thoughts. Now I just have to find a way to organize and channel them into something constructive and useful without letting LIFE get in the way.

    I don’t even care if the book ends up flopping- it’s something I have to do too. Sweetness. Good Luck!
    Ready
    Set
    Go

  7. If you are serious about writing a novel, look at some books that explain the ins and outs of publishing. It is a good idea to write your novel in manuscript format from the beginning so you don’t have to change it later to satisfy publishers. I have looked into the subject and what I remember is double spacing; an abreviated title, author name and page number on upper right hand side of page because they clip the left side; specific cover page information and specific margin and indentation requirements. Good luck and I want to pre-order my copy now.

  8. ill – I am indeed 100% serious and committed to writing this book. I am a member of a writing forum and the folks there generally help me out when I have questions, since I often have many.

    I know that margins have to be 1″ all around, and that it is typically good to use a 12 pt courier font submitted manuscript style (double spaced). This is how I am formatting it and what is generally the most “desired” output.

    So far I have written almost 8,000 words in 2 days. I am happy with how I am progressing.

    It’s a novel about a rebellious and troubled girl who escapes into the underworld of hard drugs and finds herself in all sorts of weird, scary, depressing, tragic, funny and surreal situations. It has an underlying (cheeky) sense of humour amidst the presence of some very serious and extreme issues.

    Thanks for your well wishing!! I hope to succeed in meeting my goal before I have to go back to work (in January).

Leave a Reply

